Happy Thursday to my trusty group of fat fighters! 

I think I had a breakthrough of sorts.  Well, not so much a breakthrough as an awakening.  I was trying to talk a friend of mine back onto the diet bandwagon.  She’s struggling to lose weight and keeps promising herself she’s going to work out, and never does it.  I can’t judge, nor I’d imagine can any of us.  how many times have we told ourselves with the best of intentions that we were going to eat better tomorrow, hit the gym later, etc, etc…only to never do it?  I can tell you more times than I have fingers and toes!

So I thought, I’m a responsible person.  I get up, get to work on time.  If I commit to something I do it.  If I tell my hubby I will bring home some milk, I bring it.  If I tell my mom I will come shopping with her, I go.  I’m not one to lie, I keep my word, and if I say I’m going to do something, I do it.

Except…with myself.

Why is it that I won’t hold myself accountable to myself?  It is because I can’t punish myself?  Is it because no one really has to know that I’ve let MYSELF down?  I was almost embarrassed when it became clear to me…the only person that I wasn’t finding worthwhile or important enough to keep my word to, was myself!  And that’s a jacked up thing to realize…sorry for the expression!

I had a good loss again last week, 2.6lbs, and I’ve been going hard to the gym on a very regular basis.  My eyes are open now and I realize that first I must value my word and my promises to myself, or what is the point of living?  So my advice to everyone is think long and hard about that.  If you promise yourself in the morning you will go to the gym after work…go as if the President was there waiting on you…race to that gym like you were going to lose your paycheck if you didn’t show up!  At the end of everything, if we aren’t healthy and taking care of ourselves, what can we be for anyone else? 

So push through the rest of this work week…enjoy the weekend!  I’m hoping that my little revelation will help motivate someone else to keep all those promises that we make to ourselves…even when no one else is looking!

