“Comfort Food”

This can be such a dangerous expression.  Think about comfort food, and I’d pretty much guarantee that anything which pops into your head is far from a pile of carrot sticks or a fresh green salad. 

No, COMFORT Foods are named for a reason.  They’re soothing to the soul, remind us of our childhood in most cases, but it’s rare that the foods we’ve all come to know for their warm, fuzzy inducing properties are actually GOOD for us. 

Dieters, in my opinion, need comfort more than anyone.  I mean shoot, we’re stuck here in this new, uncharted world of healthiness.  Surrounded by cold, hard vegetables, it can get real cold and lonely.  Ok, I’m being overly dramatic.  But anyone who plugs through the diet weeks begins to eventually crave, besides the fast food, just the good old home cooking that always made us feel so great.

This thought is what prompted me to try a light version of chicken and dumplings  There’s something about just hearing chicken and dumplings that makes my mouth water.  I’ve made a delicious high fat version before, but pretty much thought that this treat had to be packed away in a closet with my potato chips and waffle maker.  I perked up when I saw the recipe on the Weight Watchers site, and I got all the ingredients to give it a try.

I have to say, although I was intrigued by some of the ingredients (i.e. cornmeal and apple juice) I kept an open mind, and was pleasantly surprised.  I added a few little extra seasoning kicks, which I will share in the recipe that follows, but their recipe as is made for a yummy, warm dish.    On a cold fall or winter day, this will fill up your whole family, and as my husband did, may have them asking you “Are you SURE this is a diet meal?”  Happy cooking!  🙂

Chesty Rating: 5

 

