Hi all. 

Since the name of my blog might be slightly confusing…I think I will start by clearing a few things up. 

A.  This is not a site for mature audiences only…Chesty is my nickname…due to my last name Chestnut…so no smutty intent.

B.  This is not a breast reduction blog…discussing changes to anyone’s chest region.

C.  This is NOT a site where I can promise uplifting great results every week because hey, I’m a work in progress.

So, I guess it’s time to touch on what this site is.  It’s a sounding off point for me, I guess because I’m assuming that all of my friends aren’t going to want to hear about every step of this journey that I’m on.

What journey you ask?  Well the journey to thindom.  Yes THIN-dom.  A place often heard about, but none too often experienced by the overweight.  I am 33 years old…I decided once and for all that I’m going to get there…and like a bad house guest I’m not going to leave!

I have been overweight most of my adult life.  Ok wait, I have been overweight my ENTIRE adult life, and most of my youth.  I was the chubby kid, I wasn’t ever huge back then, but I felt like I was because of how people treated me.  As I got older I was a size 16 in high school, only to balloon up to 26 in my adult life while in a terribly abusive relationship.  When I got out of that situation I went down again on my own to a size 18, but then fell in love, go figure, and added on about 20 love pounds, which put me back at a size 20.

Well I sat there content in 20-ville for quite a few years.  I had a man who loved me, a good job and family, and people were always complimenting me on my hair, my clothes, telling me that I “carried my weight well”.  I didn’t have any glaring health issues, and I could easily have kept right on the path I was and been right back to a size 26.

Something snapped in my brain a few weeks ago…well besides the things that were already snapped (don’t judge me), and I decided that this was not what I wanted.  I was tired of feeling insecure about my body, about shopping around for the proper undergarment to suck in whatever fat roll I was trying to hide that day.  I was sick of being out of breath walking up the stairs, and of my ankles cracking and sore when I got out of bed in the morning.  Inspired by a few friends who had successes with gastric bypass, I knew I had to try something.

Like most people, I knew that my years of dieting had messed up my metabolism.  I joked that I’d love to have gastric surgery to “make it easy”, but realized that’s not an easy path, and although I could stand to lose 100lbs at least, it’s not the route that I wanted to take.  I don’t knock anyone who does it when they don’t have another option, but I have lost before, I’m my own worst enemy, and I knew if I wanted it to my body would cooperate.

So two, almost three weeks ago I got started.  I actually logged into my Weight Watchers Online membership, that I’d owned since MAY *hangs head in shame* and started tracking my food and counting my points.  I ordered a 6 week body makeover program in the mail, and so the first week I just did my own tracking, drank some wine, ate some fried fish…basically I didn’t crack down, but semi-cracked down, and when I weighed in one week later…5lbs were gone!  And dieter will agree…that’s the best feeling in the world, so week two I launched into it full swing.  One Monday later, scale time…and I’d lost a whopping 9lbs!  14lbs in two weeks….I was above the moon.

So here we are…almost through week three…and here our journey begins.  I will try to post often, stay upbeat, but be honest about how I’m doing and how I feel.  I’d love to hear your stories of  success or failure, we can all beat this together.  I’m trying tons of new recipes, so feel free to try any I post and tell me what you think.  You can email me anytime at schestnut22@gmail.com to share your own recipes or private comments!

So thanks for taking the time to see what this is all about…now let’s really make them say “Wow, she suuure has changed!!”

